Skip to main content

Follow Us

Social networking will appear here

Support Us

Join  |   Donate  |   Volunteer  |   Newsletter

Contact Us

League of Women Voters Pike County
134 Fawn Lake Drive
Dingmans Ferry, PA 18328
Copyright © 2020 • All Rights Reserved • Terms of Use Privacy Policy • Powered by ClubExpress
HomeTake Action


According to the Pennsylvania Constitution, to which every member of the legislature has sworn to uphold, “The Commonwealth shall be divided into 50 senatorial and 203 representative districts, which shall be composed of compact and contiguous territory as nearly equal in population as practicable. Each senatorial district shall elect one Senator, and each representative district one Representative. Unless absolutely necessary no county, city, incorporated town, borough, township or ward shall be divided in forming either a senatorial or representative district.”

The 189th Legislative District in Pictures

1991-2001 -- Totally contained in Monroe County, including the boroughs of Stroudsburg and East Stroudsburg.

2001-2011 – Cut Pike County in half and reduced its size in Monroe by two thirds; divided the townships of Dingman, Stroud, and Chestnut Hill, (as well as 3 school districts), and removed the boroughs Stroudsburg and East Stroudsburg.  The shape and makeup of the district all but guaranteed that no Pike County resident would hold that seat.

2012-2021 – Continues to divide Pike and Monroe Counties, although the townships of Dingman and Chestnut Hill were no longer divided.  Delaware Township became the only township in the Delaware Valley School District to be excluded from the 139th District.  All but one of seven precincts in Stroud Township were cut out of the district.  Newly included Barrett Township was contiguous to the rest of the district by a back road and a border to largely unpopulated state gamelands.

The 139th Legislative District

1991-2001 -- Totally contained in Wayne and Pike Counties.  The Wayne County incumbent was rarely challenged.

2001-2011 – Cut both Wayne and Pike Counties in half while also dropping into Monroe County.  It divided 4 school districts, and all but guaranteed that no Monroe County resident would hold that seat.  Since 2006, the Pike County incumbent has been challenged only twice.

2012-2021 – The district reverted to containment within Wayne and Pike Counties.

The 20th PA Senatorial District – The Earmuff District

There has been little in major changes to this district since 1971, but a glance at its shape and what is cut out of its borders says much.  The urban areas of northeast PA are excluded.  It is neither compact nor contiguous and the incumbent is rarely challenged. 


When legislative leaders manipulate district boundaries to keep themselves in office or to silence their opposition, we ALL lose.  This abuse of our political system has made Pennsylvania one of the most gerrymandered states in the country.  Pike County is no exception, and we will be working closing with Fair Districts PA ( in this year’s reapportionment process.  It’s time that voters have the right to choose their legislators instead of legislators choosing their voters.

For more information, visit Fair Districts PA!